Graduates and Honorees


The Catholic Biblical School is a resource for forming and empowering discipleship among adults in the Archdiocese of Hartford. This year, the following individuals are honored for significant achievements in the Catholic Biblical School.


bm.jpgLawrence Boadt Memorial Medal 2018 will be awarded to Cathleen (“Cee Cee”) Johnson of St. Bridget of Sweden Parish, Cheshire. An alum of the archdiocesan Catholic Biblical School (CBS) Class of 2010, Cee Cee was nominated by her pastor, Fr. Jeffrey Romans, citing numerous biblical ministries and adult formation at St.Bridget. Cee Cee has continued studying her in-depth study of the Bible through CBS alumni courses, and in 2015 served as the Chair of the Catholic Biblical School 20th Anniversary Celebration. The Boadt Medal is CBS’s highest honor, awarded yearly to one CBS alum.

All CBS certificates and honors will be presented by Archbishop Blair at the Archdiocesan Award Ceremony on June 19, 2018, 7:00 p.m., Cathedral of St. Joseph, Hartford. Join us!

Boadt Medal Recipients 2010-2017

Linda Mickiewicz, 2017
Mr. Charles Wills, 2016
Sr. Doretta D'Albero, ASCJ, 2015
Ms. Kathi L. Bonner, 2014
Ms. Nancy S. Stimac, 2013
Deacon William J. Gilles, 2013
Ms. Barbara Gawle, 2012
Ms. Angela Pietrowski, 2010

Graduating Class 2017

Students who have completed the core requirements for four years in the Biblical School earn the Certificate in Advanced Biblical Studies. This year, fourteen men and women have thoughtfully and prayerfully engaged all 73 books of the Old and New Testaments in the context of the Catholic tradition.

Ronald J. Artale, Saint Teresa of Avila (Woodbury)
Laura R. Carnein, Saint Dominic (Southington)
Richard H. Grayson, Saint Thomas the Apostle (Oxford)
Martha E. Houlroyd, Saint Peter Episcopal Church (South Windsor)
Nicholas Karlowicz, Saint Thomas the Apostle (West Hartford)
Wilfred R. La Rose Saint Peter Claver (West Hartford)
Paula Ann Mitchell, Saint Agnes (Milford)
Suzanne M. O’Brien, Saint Mary/Saint Robert of Bellarmine (Windsor Locks)
Patricia Patrone-Onofrio, Saint Anthony (Bristol)
Lisa C. Pelletier, Saint Stanislaus (Bristol)
Beth Polio, Saint Catherine of Siena (West Simsbury)
Therese W. Rock-Cuccia, Church of the Nativity (Bethlehem)*
Maria Roja, Saint Peter Claver (West Hartford)
Bernadette M. Slattery, Saint Catherine of Siena (West Simsbury)
Peter J. Thomas, Saint Margaret (Madison)
Philip S. Walker, Saint Peter Claver (West Hartford)


Students who have undertaken additional academic challenges beyond the Advanced Certificate requirements earn 18 college credits and the Saint Thomas Seminary Certificate in Biblical Studies.


Students who have completed the core requirements for the first two years in the Biblical School earn the Certificate in Basic Biblical Studies. This year, thirty-four women and men have thoughtfully and prayerfully engaged eleven foundational books of the Old Testament in Year One and nineteen books of the New Testament in Year Two.

Cheryl C. Batter, Saint Paul and Sacred Heart (Berlin)
Phyllis Blauvelt, Saint Patrick (Enfield)
Robert J. Bourne, Saint Sebastian (Middletown)
John Anthony Brajkovic*, Blessed Sacrament (Hamden)
Catherine J. Capuano, Saint Anthony (Prospect)
Dennis J. Ciardiello, Saint Mary (New Haven)
Thomas Colman, Cook Corpus Christi (Wethersfield)
James E. Creed III, Saint Bridget (Manchester)
Debra-Ann Criscuolo, Saint Mary (Branford)
Cynthia Daddona, Saint Mary Magdalen (Oakville)
Sandy Everett, Saint Mary (Simsbury)
Carmencita Figueroa, Our Lady of Mount Carmel (Hamden)
Margaret M. Folse, Saint Timothy (West Hartford)
Mary Lee Gaffney, Saint Patrick-Saint Anthony (Hartford)
Sister Regina Marie Garofalo, Felician Sisters of North America (Enfield)
Lauren Marie Gault, Felician Sisters of North America (Enfield)
Paula Godman, Saint Therese (Branford)
Maria Hacker, Saint Vincent Ferrer (Naugatuck)
Sr. Jerilyn Hunihan, ASCJ, Saint Peter (Higganum)
Thomas J. Hynes, Saint Bartholomew (Manchester)
Maria M. LaRocco, Saint Joseph (Meriden)
Corinne A. Lorenzet, Saint Edward the Confessor (Stafford Springs)
Maria Ludena-Bendezu, Saint Joseph (Bristol)
Donna G. Miller, Saint Bartholomew (Manchester)
Jennifer P. O'Neill, Saint John Fisher (Marlborough)
Daniel Piano, Saint Timothy (West Hartford)
Catherine A. Rivard, Saint Mary (Simsbury)
Lourdes G. Rodriguez, Torrington Cluster of Catholic Parishes (Torrington)
Anita J. Rosa, Saint Michael (Waterbury)
Carolyn Schwab, Our Lady of Mount Carmel (Hamden)
Laura J. Sprague, Notre Dame (Durham)
Elaine M. Sweeney, RSM*, Saint Bartholomew (Manchester)
Janine Marie Tighe, Saint Mary (Milford)
John E. Tighe, Saint Mary (Milford)
*August completion