Awards Ceremony

The Office of Education, Evangelization and Catechesis (OEEC) has the distinct pleasure of honoring those who have dedicated their energies to the study of Sacred Scripture, preparation for ministry, years of service in faith formation, Catholic Scouting, personal development and growth, and other great accomplishments. We believe that it is important to do so in a way that honors each unique accomplishment in an appropriately celebratory and distinguished setting befitting the amount of effort therein. To that end, the Office of Education, Evangelization and Catechesis has determined to suspend the large Archdiocesan Awards Ceremony and instead to bestow Archdiocesan awards in the following contexts:
  • Catholic Biblical School: Four - Year Graduation: June 1, 2019 at 2:30 p.m., following Mount Nebo Day (Saint Dominic, Southington)
  • Catholic Scouting: June 15, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. - Vigil Mass with awards to follow (Cathedral of Saint Joseph – Hartford)
  • ELM Leadership Formation, ELM Parish Accompaniment, and Catholic Biblical School Basic Certificate: June 18, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. - Mass with Archbishop Blair; awards to follow (Saint Katherine Drexel parish, Saint Jerome campus – New Britain)
  • Religious Education Years of Service: Missio, March 28, 2020
  • Discipleship and Light of the World:
    • 2019: Please contact Michael Wellington for more information
    • 2020: Catholic Youth Encounter

Blocks.jpgLight of the World/ Luz del Mundo

This award is given in recognition of a parish/school recommendation to confer upon Catholic adults (21 and over) who have faithfully lived their baptismal call through dedication and service to Youth and Comprehensive Youth Ministry and have made significant contributions to the spiritual welfare of youth and/or their families.
Este premio se da como reconocimiento de una escuela/parroquia a un adulto católico, (21 años o más), que ha vivido fielmente su llamado bautismal; a través de su dedicación y servicio a los jóvenes y a la Pastoral Juvenil, contribuyendo significativamente al bienestar espiritual de los jóvenes y/o sus familias.

Discipleship Award / Premio de Discipulado

This award is given in recognition of a parish/school recommendation to confer upon Catholic youth who have exercised their baptismal call, served as role models in terms of Mass attendance and Catholic Social teachings, and selflessly served their peers with unwavering commitment and dedication.
Este premio se otorga por recomendación de una parroquia/escuela y en reconocimiento a los/las jóvenes católicos/católicas que han ejercido su llamado bautismal sirviendo como modelos a seguir;  asistiendo a la misa, practicando las enseñanzas católicas sociales, y sirviendo desinteresadamente a sus compañeros, con compromiso y dedicación inquebrantables.

To nominate someone for one of the above awards, click here.

Blocks.jpgMore Information

For questions about specific awards, please contact the person responsible: