Archdiocesan School Board

Mission of the Archdiocesan School Board

In conjunction with the Office of Education, Evangelization and Catechesis (OEEC), the mission of the Archdiocesan School Board is to further the advancement of excellence in Catholic education for students in the Archdiocese of Hartford by providing leadership, direction, and support to the Archbishop, the Vicar for Education, Evangelization and Catechesis, and Laura McCaffrey, Advisor to the Vicar for Finance and Technology.


Elected Officers (2019-2020)


Fay Lenz,
First Term Ends 2020



Current Membership

Mark A. Adams (Oxford) Second term ends 2020
Carlos Aedo (Vernon) First Term ends 2022
Deacon Robert J. Barry (Bloomfield) First Term ends 2022
Msgr. Thomas M. Ginty (Wolcott) Second Term ends 2020
Claude Howard (Avon) First Term ends 2022
Keith J. Hubert, CPA (Southington) Second Term ends 2022
Jude Kelly (Bristol) First Term ends 2021
Karen M. Leary, PT, DPT (Southington) First Term ends 2020
Paul Mitnick (Waterbury) First Term ends 2021
Rev. Michael A. Santiago (North Haven) Second Term ends 2021
Rev. Michael G. Whyte (West Simsbury) Second Term ends 2021


Inquiries on becoming a member of the Archdiocesan School Board

The Archdiocesan School Board is seeking nominations of individuals who meet the qualifications as outlined in the by-laws for a three year term, with a possible additional term. Please contact Fay Lenz, Chair of the Nominating Committee, at if you are interested in more information about the Archdiocesan School Board. Recommendation for Archdiocesan School Board form.

Standing Committees (2019-2020)

Executive Committee

  • Fay Lenz, Chair
  • Theresa A. Becker, Vice-Chair
  • Sr. Mary Grace Walsh, ASCJ, Ph.D, Provost of Education, Evangelation and Catechesis
  • Laura McCaffrey, Assistant to the Provost

Nominating Committee:

Goal: Recruit 2 - 4 new members to serve on the Archdiocesan School Board beginning July 2019.

Community Outreach Committee (Local School Boards)

Goal: Increase the purposefulness of the visits to the local boards by using the Leadership Manual of Catholic School Boards (2018) as a tool, and provide feedback to the OEEC following local board visits to improve local school board development.

Community Outreach Committee (Pastors)

Goal: Provide support to and build relationships with pastors, particularly those with no school experience and/or with complex school issues.

Planning Committee and Pastoral Planning AD HOC Committee (in collaboration with the Office of Pastoral Planning)

Goal: Continue to cooperate and collaborate with the vision of the pastoral planning committee

School Success Committee 

Goal: Provide support to local school boards



School Success Committee Webinar December 2018

Click here to view the video