An excellent Catholic School in the Archdiocese of Hartford has a qualified school leader responsible for realizing and implementing the school's mission and vision guided by a statetic plan."


Recognition of Educators

When Catholic educators reach milestone anniversaries or complete the certification program in adult faith formation, the Office of Education, Evangelization and Catechesis recognizes the valuable contributions these educators have made to the school community and the Archdiocese of Hartford. They are acknowledged with personalized certificates and/or pins as an expression of the Archdiocese’s gratitude. The recognition of these educators is held each spring at the Archdiocesan Catholic Educators Faith Conference.

Archdiocesan Distinguished Elementary School Pastor Award

(Rev. Kevin P. Cavanaugh, Pastor of the Church of St. James in Manchester, 2019 – 2020 Distinguished Pastor)

The Archdiocesan Distinguished Pastor Award is presented in honor of those pastors who have demonstrated outstanding support for Catholic elementary education. In addition to this Archdiocesan recognition, Distinguished Pastor awardees are also submitted to the National Catholic Educational Association for consideration of national recognition.

The following qualities are considered when naming the Archdiocesan Distinguished Elementary School Pastor.

The Distinguished Pastor must:

  • Possess a clear philosophy of Catholic education;
  • Provide spiritual guidance to the school community;
  • Participate in school activities;
  • Work with the school board and/or parent association;
  • Support the school administration and faculty;
  • Engage the community in providing financial support to the school and;
  • Have a minimum of three years of service as a pastor in a parish associated with a Catholic elementary school.

To learn more about this year's honoree, Rev. Kevin P. Cavanaugh, click here

Recipients of this award:

2019-2020: Rev. Kevin P. Cavanaugh, St. James School, Manchester
2018-2019: Rev. James M. Sullivan, Assumption School, Ansonia
2017-2018: Msgr. Thomas G. Ginty, St. Matthew School, Forestville
2016-2017: Rev. Francis T. Carter, St. Bernadette, School, New Haven
2015-2016: Rev. Ronald P. May and Reverend Nicholas P. Melo, Southington Catholic School, Southington
2014-2015: Rev. Stephen M. Sledesky, St. Bridget School, Manchester
2013-2014: Rev. Shawn T. Daly*, Corpus Christi School, Wethersfield
2012-2013: Rev. Christopher M. Tiano, St. Peter/St. Francis of Assisi School, Torrington
2011-2012: Rev. Mark R. Jette, St. Lawrence School, West Haven
2010-2011, Rev. Joseph V. DiSciacca, St. Joseph School, Bristol
2009-2010: Msgr. John P. Conte*, Our Lady of Mercy School, Madison
2009-2010: Rev. Lawrence S. Symolon*, Our Lady of Mercy School, Madison
2008-2009: Msgr. James G. Coleman, SS. Peter & Paul School, Waterbury
2007-2008: Rev. Charles J. MacDonald, St. Rita School, Hamden

*Indicates nationally recognized by the National Catholic Educational Association.


Archdiocesan Distinguished Catholic School Administrator Award

(Mrs. Eileen Regan, 2019 – 2020 Distinguished Catholic School Administrator)

The Office of Education, Evangelization and Catechesis bestows this award to give public recognition to outstanding Catholic school administrators serving in the Archdiocese of Hartford. This award is also the basis for nominating the administrator for the National Distinguished Principal or Secondary Administrator Award sponsored by the National Catholic Educational Association.

The following are considerations for naming the Archdiocesan Distinguished Catholic School Administrator:

  • The administrator’s leadership has benefited curriculum, staff morale, community support, student interest, and the learning environment.
  • The school exhibits increased or consistently high levels of student achievement as demonstrated on a standardized assessment instrument.
  • The administrator provides creative leadership that inspires teachers and others to achieve and contribute to the school environment.
  • Examples of service or achievement are above and beyond what is expected in the usual school program.
  • Others have acknowledged the administrator as a force for positive change.

To learn more about this year's honoree, Eileen Regan, click here

Recipients of this award:

2019-2020 Eileen Regan, Sacred Heart High School, Waterbury
2018-2019: Fayne Molloy, St. Paul School, Kensington
2017-2018: Frank Lacerenza, St. Mary School, Milford
2016-2017: Patricia O'Neil Tiezzi, St. Rita School, Hamden
2015-2016: Colleen DiSanto, Principal, St. Thomas the Apostle School, West Hartford
2014-2015: Maria Testa, Principal, St. Stephen School, Hamden
2013-2014: Cary Dupont*, President, St. Paul Catholic High School, Bristol
2012-2013: Sr. Kathleen Kelly, RSM*, Principal, Holy Trinity School, Wallingford
2011-2012: Patricia Devanney*, Principal, St. Anthony School, Winsted
2010-2011: Margaret Williamson*, Principal, Northwest Catholic High School, West Hartford
2009-2010: Mary Macunas*, Principal, St. Rose School, East Hartford
2008-2009: Julie Pion, Principal, St. Mary Magdalen School, Oakville
2007-2008: Mark J. Monnerat*, Principal, St. Joseph School, Bristol
2006-2007: Kathleen Molner*, Principal, Assumption School, Ansonia
2005-2006: Maria Maynard, Principal, St. Mary’s School, Simsbury
2004-2005: Eileen Sampiere*, Principal, Corpus Christi School, Wethersfield

*Indicates nationally recognized by the National Catholic Educational Association.


The St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Award


2019 St. Elizabeth Ann Seton honorees, Mr. Robert Rice and Mrs. Marianne Rice, pictured with Archbishop Leonard P. Blair and Sr. Mary Grace Walsh, Provost for Education, Evangelization and Catechesis


The St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Award is presented to a volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution to, or on behalf of, a Catholic school in the Archdiocese of Hartford within the context of the Archdiocesan Elementary Schools Advancement Program. This award provides an opportunity to express gratitude to an individual who, in a major leadership role, has greatly influenced a particular school's cause through its program of institutional advancement. The emphasis of this award is placed on the pattern, magnitude and effectiveness of the individual’s contribution. It celebrates the work of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton who, throughout her life, was deeply committed to making a Catholic education available to all, especially the needy, and who is known as the Patron Saint of Catholic schools. Although only one volunteer will receive this honor, each elementary school annually recognizes its exceptional volunteers with the St. John Neumann Award for Volunteer Service.

The Archdiocese of Hartford wishes to express sincere gratitude to the considerable body of men and women whose loyalty and support enrich our academic institutions, and to acknowledge how much Catholic schools are dependent upon the commitment, the support and the advocacy of the many dedicated volunteers of our Archdiocesan Faith Community.